Board of Education

Serving locally, and on the intermediate level, the Calhoun Intermediate School District Board of Education brings over 70 years of collective service and experience to the students of Calhoun County. All board members are currently, or have in the past, served on a local school board. In addition, Board members bring a variety of backgrounds, work experience and expertise to the CISD Board. During their service to Calhoun county and surrounding areas, Board Members advocate the interest of children and act as links between the education community and business, government and citizens of Calhoun County.


Access the Michigan Association of School Boards


Board Members


Portrait Kenneth Ponds - CISD Board of Education President

Kenneth Ponds, President

Ken Ponds is in his 18th year with the CISD Board of Education. Rev. Ponds comes to the CISD with over 12 years of experience having served on the Albion Board of Education.


In addition, Mr. Ponds worked 39 years as Chaplain for Starr Albion Prep (Formerly Starr Commonwealth.)




Portrait Allyn Miller - CISD Board of Education Vice PresidentAllyn Miller, Vice President

Allyn Miller begins his 4th year as a Calhoun ISD Board Member. He has many years experience as an educational leader and served on the Harper Creek Board for 13 years. He also was a member of MASB, serving on several state committees.







Portrait Georgia Marsh - CISD Board of Education Secretary

Georgia Marsh, Secretary

Georgia Marsh is in her 16th year as a CISD board member. Mrs. Marsh is retired from Marshall Public Schools where she worked as a Middle School Counselor for 28 1/2 years. She also served on the Marshall Board of Education for three years.







JoAnnePortrait JoAnne Miller - CISD Board of Education Treasurer Miller, Treasurer

JoAnne is in her 8th year as a CISD board member. She retired from the CISD after 18 years as a Consultant.   JoAnne has a expansive background in education having served as a high school teacher and adult education teacher. She served on the Homer Board of  Education from 2005 through 2015 and is a member of many non-profit boards.




DurwooPortrait Durwood Booher - CISD Board of Education Trusteed Booher, Trustee

Durwood "Woody" Booher is In his 29th year on the CISD Board of Education. Woody also served 17 years on the Pennfield School Board.  President Booher is the owner of Double D Equipment Company, which serves the Industrial Paint Finishing Industry.

Board of Education Meetings

Regular Meeting Dates Third Wednesday of each month.
See actual dates below.
All meetings are held at: C.I.S.D. Gifford/Schultz Educational Service Center
17111 G Drive North Marshall, MI. beginning at 4:00 p.m. unless otherwise noted.

Persons with disabilities who need special accommodations should call (269) 789-2450 and ask for the office of the board secretary, C.I.S.D., one (1) week prior to the meeting date they wish to attend.

For more information contact: the HR/Executive Office Coordinator, CISD:

ReNae Anderson by email
or (269) 789-2450.

Meeting Dates:


July 18, 2018 (meeting begins at 4:00 p.m. Organizational meeting - Regular meeting to follow immediately after)

August 15, 2018 

September 12, 2018 (2nd Wednesday)

October 17, 2018

October 29, 2018 Special Meeting (2:30 p.m.)

November 7, 2018 Board Retreat (12:00 p.m.)

November 14, 2018 (2nd Wednesday) 

December 12, 2018 (5:00 p.m.)

January 16, 2019

February 20, 2019 (Doris Klaussen Developmental Center, 408 Jameson, Battle Creek, Michigan)

March 20, 2019

March 25, 2019 Special Meeting (10:00 a.m.)

April 17, 2019 (Calhoun Area Career Center, 475 East Roosevelt Avenue, Battle Creek, Michigan)**

May 15, 2019

June 24, 2019 (Budget Hearing - Regular meeting to follow immediately after - Fourth Monday)*


CISD Board Meeting Minutes